The Tennis

My husband, Michael, is a sports fanatic.  ESPN is undoubtedly the sole reason we have cable.  Baseball, basketball, football, golf, table tennis; you name it, at some point, we watch it.  This way we can keep up on all sorts of information I generally find impertinent.  But I shouldn’t really complain.  If we didn’t watch everything my eyes would never have been opened to the world of Tennis!  I LOVE The Tennis.  The year always starts on a good note at The Australian Open, then comes The French Open around May, Wimbledon in the end of June and finishing off strong with The US Open in the end of August (which is held only a couple of hours south of my hometown 🙂 ). 

Tennis is a game of finesse.  It combines physical fitness with technique, quick thinking, fancy foot work and a level of hand-eye coordination I could never dream of achieving.  It is a beautiful game.

Here is an example.  This is Roger Federer at the US Open in 2009 (also done at US Open last year with a favorable outcome): 

In what other sport can you practice shots like that?

If you need any other convincing, watch Federer play Nadal at almost any match.  They are almost equal in terms of ability, which makes it that much more interesting to watch.  This video is the 2009 Australian Open Final.

If you watch any of The Tennis, you may also find something you never knew you would enjoy.  The Australian Open is on until January 30th and is usually televised starting somewhere between 6 and 8 pm pacific until the wee morning hours.  This is most unfortunate for me because I still work for a living.  I know we can’t just move Australia and I don’t think the world clock would change just so I can watch tennis.  But here’s hopin’.

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Tennis

  1. Rachael Picard says:

    If you like watching Tennis then you should try playing Tennis. While it was not the easiest thing I’ve ever done it was so much fun. I think you and your Hubby would enjoy playing a game now and then.

  2. I lack some serious coordination reqired for tennis! I have played a couple of times with kids I babysit for and it is always fun 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Tennis is BACK!!! | lifeofaphoenix

Leave a Reply

