Alki Outing

It was gorgeous weather yesterday, so I decided it was a great day for a photography outing.  My husband agreed to come along knowing that food would probably be involved.  We have been to Alki Crab and Fish Co. before, so I knew the food and view would satisfy us both.  It’s located right on the water near Alki beach and has a great view of the Seattle skyline.  It looks rather unassuming from the outside and reminds me of a delicious seafood place we used to go on family vacations to NH.

The view inside is wonderful.

And the food is delicious but hardly gluten-free.  I ordered the caesar salad with shrimp and the hubby had halibut and chips.

After eating, we walked down to the dock to look over Elliot Bay.

Listening to the seals from the dock is always a joyous event for me.  I make the fin clapping action and imitate their sounds because I am a dork and it’s funny.  Then, to my utter joy and delight we see this guy! (not great pictures but it was just so fabulous I couldn’t leave them out)

After this very exciting encounter, our adventure continued just a short drive away at Jack Block Park.  We first discovered this park on an evening walk from our apartment about a year ago.  Interestingly enough, we happened to meet Jack Block that night who was also on a stroll with his wife and some friends.  The park looks more like a construction or industrial area than a park from the road, so most people don’t notice it is there.  It’s actually a very nice place.  Yesterday, there were a few families teaching their youngsters to ride bikes and enjoying the weather.

Overall the weather was beautiful, the company was fabulous and the photo opportunities were endless.  It was an amazing day.

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

