Cheater, Cheater, Gluten Eater!!!

That’s right folks, after 7 months, approximately 216 days of being Gluten Free, I am officially a cheater gluten eater.  In the middle of June 2010 I found out that I have celiac’s disease.  Since that day I have not knowingly, willingly or purposefully ingested anything containing gluten… until today.  It has been a long road and quite a struggle to keep “clean”.  My self-control has always won out and knowing that I would have a tummy ache and worse, was always a deterrent.  This is what was worth it:

Bourekas

 1.  Bourekas are a cheese filled, pastry puff delight!  They were introduced to me by a family from Israel who goes to the school I teach at.  They are AMAZING!  Bourekas are one of my favorite glutenous foods that I have not figured out how to make a gluten-free substitute of.  They were SO worth the tummy ache.

Red Velvet Cake

 

2.  Red Velvet Cake… enough said.  (This picture is a much sexier version of the cake I ate but it looks every bit as delicious!)

French Bread

 

3.  While I was at it, I had a piece of French bread with butter.  I almost cried it was so good.  How I have longed for you bread and finally we met and had a grand old-time in my belly!

This will be the last cheat day for at least 7 more months.  I enjoyed it while it lasted but felt quite guilty.  I came home and made gluten-free pasta with à la vodka sauce and gluten-free pumpkin cupcakes to make up for my indulgences today.

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cheater, Cheater, Gluten Eater!!!

  1. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZau57XQAhU I was reminded of Tempelton’s Smorgasbord in the afternoon on cheat day 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    I didn’t know you finally got tested?!

Leave a Reply

