Gluten Free Pumpkin Cake

On Wednesday after my glorious cheat day, I made gluten-free pumpkin cake.  It was so very delicious and quite moist. 

Here is the recipe for all of you who would like to make some of this scrumptious cake.  I found the recipe for a pumpkin layer cake on southernfood.about.com and adapted it for my gluten-free needs. 

Ingredients:

2 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

4 large eggs

2 cups Namaste gluten-free flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups pumpkin purée (I used purée made around Halloween that I’d stashed in the freezer)

Preparation:

Combine sugar, veggie oil, and eggs in a large mixing bowl; mix well.  Sift dry ingredients into separate bowl (I never do this); stir into oil mixture, beating well.  Stir in pumpkin purée.

The recipe says to pour batter into 2 greased and floured 9-inch round layer cake pans.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes.  I didn’t do this either (noticing a pattern yet?).  I made 12 cupcakes (cooked about 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean).  I also made a small cake in an 8×8 pan cooked for about 25-30 minutes and the rest of the batter I put in a loaf pan and cooked about 25-30 minutes.  I fly by the seat of my pants when there are not enough cupcake papers for the entire batch (if you notice they are christmas papers 🙂  ).

Frosting:

I used the recipe from the back of the confectioner’s sugar box without realizing some of the sugar had already been used.  The frosting turned out more buttery than is probably necessary but sometimes you just have to roll like Paula Deen and enjoy. 

The aforementioned papers 🙂

The Final Result!

There was quite enough cake at home for hubby and I, so the rest were enjoyed by co-workers, classmates, friends and hopefully now by YOU!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

