Day 2 With My Folks

Last Friday was a very exciting day.  While my parents went off to explore The Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, Hubbs and I stayed home to have a relaxing morning before his interview for an internship with the Mariners.  We had high hopes after a promising meeting with some Mariner higher-ups at the end of January.  When Friday’s interview was over, we played the waiting game, hoping to find a good “summer job” for Michael.  This internship would be something that Michael would enjoy more than playing video games and that’s sayin’ something.

Once my Dave was done looking at the good, the bad and the ugly of all things aviation (depending on which of my parents you ask), my mom visited the gift shop, like ya do.  It was probably my mom’s favorite part of the museum, but come on, who needs something from the aviation gift shop?

Once our separate adventures were complete, we met up for a movie and food.

We enjoyed watching The King’s Speech and my mom and I schooled a large bucket of popcorn, just like old times.  The acting in the movie was impressive.  Colin Firth’s portrayal of King George VI was very well done and from what I’ve heard, quite authentic.  Seeing Helena Bonham Carter dress and act like nobility was a far cry from seeing her as Bellatrix or Mrs. Lovett.  It gave me a good chuckle.  Dumbledore and Peter Pettigrew also make appearances, much to my amusement.  This movie definitely deserved all of the awards it won.  The storyline was provocative, the music was amazing and the acting was nothing less than perfect.  Be sure to go out and enjoy this film when you get a chance.

 

After the movie we took my parents to eat Thai food.  The East Coast is not as laden with Thai food as Seattle, so I thought it would be appropriate for them to enjoy a new type of cuisine.  We ate at Thai 65 at The Landing in Renton.  We ordered by number because we forgot to practice our Thai and didn’t want to embarrass ourselves trying to pronounce the names of the entrees.  We left full and pleased bellies.  When you visit Seattle, be sure to eat Thai food (my favorite dish is Pad Thai with shrimp).

 

In New News: Today we found out that Michael got an internship with the Mariners in the finance department for the summer!  When he told me, I jumped up and down and screamed in the kitchen at school.  I then noticed that one of my students was curiously watching me through the window.  I took a step to one side so he couldn’t see me.  A moment later, he side-stepped so he could watch through the window again.  I couldn’t help but laugh to myself (curiosity killed the cat ya know).  After a sensational week this was icing on the cake.

I hope your week is going as well as ours!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Family, Photography, Sports, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 2 With My Folks

  1. OH MY WORD! Congrats, Michael!!!

    And so true…good Thai food is few and far between on the east coast. A travesty!

    • I know we are just so excited! I knew he would do well in the world, I just didn’t realize it would be so quickly!
      We need to just transplant you out here so we can enjoy good Thai together on a regular basis… be sure to add it to your bucket list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

