Best Browines – gluten-free!

These brownies are simply delightful.  I received this recipe from my pre-school and converted it for my gluten-free needs.  They are so easy to make that I’ll never go back to boxed brownies!

Best Brownies

1/2 cup butter/margarine melted

1 cup of sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract (gluten-free)

2 eggs

1/2 cup flour (I use Namaste gluten-free flour)

1/3 cup Cocoa powder

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9″ square pan.  Stir butter, sugar and vanilla in bowl (I use a fork and hand mix).  Add eggs, beat well.  Stir flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt.  Gradually add to egg mixture (I never do this separately. I just add it all to the bowl).  Beat until well blended.  Spread in pan.  I always sprinkle a handful of chocolate chips… or two, to the top of the batter.  It makes the brownies extra moist and gooey!  Bake 20-25  minutes for regular flour.  It usually takes more like  25-30 minutes in my oven with the gluten-free flour.  Double recipe for 9×13 pan and expect a little extra baking time.  I bake a double batch for 25-30 minutes and keep an eye on them after that until a tooth pick comes out clean. 

Sometimes when the brownies have cooled, I frost them as well.  Depending on how indulgent I’m feeling.

Happy Baking!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best Browines – gluten-free!

  1. Pingback: Fondue Dessert Du Jour | lifeofaphoenix

Leave a Reply

