A day with SAM

Visiting SAM is another one of those things I have meant to do since moving to Seattle.  At around 11 am I got my little self ready and made my way out into the semi-drizzly Seattle day.  I rode the bus downtown, walked 2 blocks and arrived at my destination…

Seattle Art Museum

The hammering man outside of the art museum works harder than I do!  He is on a special timer and hammers from 7 am to 10 pm daily, resting only at night and every year on Labor Day! 

Here is a look at some of the permanent pieces I enjoyed:

9 Ford Taurus’ hang from the ceiling with strobing lights.  I thought the rising and falling image the artist was trying to accomplish was amazing.  It looked like a car crash in action.

This piece of art titled, some/one by Do-Ho Suh, is made up of thousands of dog-tags.  Each tag is imprinted with nonsensical words, letters and numbers.  It was produced to relate the individual to the whole.  The work was impressive.  It made me think about how I contribute to the whole of the community/world/universe.

The porcelain room was one of my favorite places.  The collection is organized not by time period or artistic style, like the rest of the museum.  Instead, similar colors and themes are grouped.  Also, there are no placards on the walls.  On the bench in the middle of the room are books to reference, telling about each piece.

The traveling exhibits currently at Seattle Art Museum are Nick Cave: Meet Me At The Center Of The Earth and Behind The Scenes: The Real Story Of The Quileute Wolves.  Now, you are not supposed to take pictures in these exhibits because the museum does not own the rights to the pieces.  Thus, I have provided you with links to the exhibits as well as these two pictures I took before I was quietly informed by the security guard that I was not to be taking pictures in this exhibit 🙂

These are 2 examples of headdresses worn by the Quileute tribe during traditional ceremonies.  Wearers dance and imitate the animal’s actions and sounds.

I spent about 4 and a half hours enjoying all that SAM had to offer.  They have a great variety of pieces but collections from different time periods are not terribly extensive.  I look forward to visiting again when the Norman Rockwell exhibit arrives.  I also suggest going on the first Thursday of the month.  The museum is open late (9pm) and admission is free!

Upon departing, I was in desperate need of a coffee.  With a gift card and a coupon burning a hole in my pocket, I sought out a Tully’s.  Along my journey, I passed these two and thought they were impossibly cute with their little canes, holding hands…

Precious.

I arrived at my destination just in time for sideways rain.  Not an uncommon occurrence for Seattle. 

Armed and ready for just such an occasion, I pulled out my reading material and enjoyed waiting out the rain in the comfort with my book, gluten-free brownie and venti mocha.  Mmm.  Plus, since I had a gift card, it only cost me 19 cents!  Yay Me!

I returned home this evening satisfied by art, coffee and literature.  The more I get out and enjoy what Seattle has to offer, the more I love living here!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Seattle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

