Back on the Horse

My 2 week sabbatical from exercise due to circumstances beyond my control, is over.  I am back on the horse.  Reunited and it feels so good…

A mile of sneakers on pavement, one very BIG hill, and another mile to finish the circle.  A pit stop at the local veggie stand for some delicious salad ingredients was a delightful rest before arriving home.  

I anticipated that my run today would be mentally and physically peaceful.  I was sorely mistaken.  Our running usually occurs before 6 am, when most of the city is still sleeping.  At 4:30 pm on a Sunday, most everyone is out and about, driving their cars, disrupting the peaceful environment I am trying to create in my brain.  About halfway through, I turned up my music and hoped this would help.  I assure you, it did not.  Fortunately, the last half mile was redeeming.  It was downhill with a beautiful view of the city skyline. 

If running habits alter, and afternoon runs become more common, some Vivaldi or Chopin may need to be added to my Ipod to keep the peace in my brain.  The escape and space to think is a welcome reprieve from the daily grind.  I look forward to seeing the sunrise tomorrow morning during my run, without the city noise to cramp my style.

Happy Sunday!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back on the Horse

  1. Dana says:

    Running? Sunday? Before 6 am??!
    I think you might have accidentally written this post in a language I can’t comprehend… totally alien correspondence. Does. Not. Compute. 🙂

    • HAHAHA! Running before 6am any day was not in my vocabulary until about 2 months ago so this is new for me also lol. You get used to it. Its a good way to start out that day. Dare I say … I might actually…. a little bit… kinda…. look forward to it… NO NO NO Say it ain’t SO!!!

Leave a Reply

