Plant Potting By An Amateur

Something worth writing about has happened…. and I am actually blogging about it the same day!    HOLD THE PHONE!  SAY IT AIN’T SO!

Well people, it is so.  And with pictures to boot!

I have been blessed with many wonderful students at my pre-school as well as very generous parents!  This week is teacher appreciation week.  It is always a humbling experience.  I do not teach little people because I feel a need to be appreciated.  I do it because I love them.  I love to see them grow and flourish.

Speaking of growing and flourishing, Tuesday’s surprise for teachers was a new collection of flowers.  Parents and students used to pick out cut flowers and then disperse them between vases for each teacher to take home.  Last year the parent’s association decided potted plants would last much longer and be more enjoyable for the teachers.  They’ve obviously never met me.  I’m really much more of a cut flowers kind of gal.  That way I don’t have to experience all of the remorse that goes along with killing potted plants.  Cut flowers are SUPPOSED to die! 

Deep Sigh!

Last year I joked about cutting all the flowers off of the potted plants and putting them in water, because they would last longer than plants themselves.  This year, I am making a concerted effort NOT to kill my lovely plants.  I have come to realize that flowers in the house make me happy!  😀  See?

So here is what I started with:

17 plants… OH how on God’s green earth am I going to keep 17 plants alive???

I know, I’ll ask every major nursery in the greater Seattle area for tips…  that way I’ll end up with the next 2 things:

Potting Soil Aaaannnddd

My very own BumBa Daaa DAaaaaa…. Moisture Tester!  So I don’t over or under water my plants!!!  YAY!!!

Hopefully I’ll get enough tips to end up with at least 12 living plants for somewhere between 6 and 12 months instead of killing them in 3 to 4 weeks.  I’m shooting for a considerable survival rate because no one is perfect and after the fish debacle, I know that it gets better after the first five.

With tools in hand, I re-potted some of my plants so they could journey indoors and find a nice place to reside.

Those are just a few!  This is what I have left:

I am talking with my apartment managers to see if some of the outdoor plants can find a nice home on the roof of our apartment building.  We have a communal deck and some nice planting boxes up there to enjoy.  Plus, there is simply no space left in our apartment, or on our deck for that matter, for too many more plants. 

It has come to my attention that a new hobby of mine is keeping things alive (ie. fish and plants).  Luckily, I feel no need to have children any time soon… I have students, fish and plants enough to keep me busy… not to mention a husband. 

Wish me luck and I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

Today I am thankful to my students and their parents for giving me a new hobby and giving me the motivation to keep plants alive!  Well done!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General, Planting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plant Potting By An Amateur

  1. Dana says:

    Good luck keeping your beautiful plants alive! I leave that particular job to Marty… even though I love plants, I seem to have no patience to care for them (properly) myself! 😉

Leave a Reply

