Gluten-Free Chocolate-Covered Marble Loaf Cake

I have Silvana Nardone to thank for this delicious recipe!  She has an amazing gluten-free cookbook called Cooking For Isaiah: Gluten-free & Dairy-free Recipes for Easy, Delicious Meals.  It is the best Gluten-free cookbook that I have found.  Its recipes do not contain odd ingredients that no one actually has in their cabinets.  It also uses many common ingredients as substitutes aka. crushed corn flakes substituted for breadcrumbs.  YAY a gluten-free cookbook with “normal” food.

The delicious marble loaf cake that I am making looks ever so delicious.  Here is the recipe so you can try it out yourself.

2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tbsp boiling water

2 large eggs at room temp.

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup veggie oil

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup water

1 cup Silvana’s All-purpose flour (I use Namaste GF flour blend)

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 2/3 semi-sweet chocolate chips

3 tbsp all-veggie shortening, at room temp

1. Preheat oven 350 degrees.  Grease 4 1/2 by 8 1/2 inch loaf pan.  In small bowl, whisk together cocoa powder and boiling water (I forgot to do this so we’ll see how it turns out).

2. In large bowl, whisk eggs and sugar until pale yellow and frothy.  Whisk in oil, vanilla and water.

3. In small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Whisk into the egg mixture until just combined.  Transfer 1/3 of the batter to small bowl.  Stir in cocoa mixture.  Alternating, spoon vanilla and chocolate cake batter into greased loaf pan.  Bake until golden brown and toothpick inserted comes out clean.  (about 50 minutes)  Let cool completely in the pan set on wire rack.  Remove from pan and place on rack.

4.  In a medium microwavable bowl, melt together the chocolate chips and shortening, (about 1 minute).  Stir until smooth.  Let cool slightly.  Using an offset spatula or the back of a spoon, coat the top and sides of the cake. 

Before it went into the oven:

In my oven the loaf took about 65 minutes to cook, but I suggest you start to check it at 50 minutes and go from there.  I have never marbled anything in my life so I was a bit nervous when I started this recipe, but once it was finished and cooled, it was extremely delicious!  Unfortunately for you, I did not take any pictures before it was devoured.  You’ll just have to make it yourself and see for yourself.

Enjoy!  Happy Cooking!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten-Free Chocolate-Covered Marble Loaf Cake

  1. Dana says:

    Yum– this sounds so good! Kudos to the cookbook author for using real foods instead of the super obscure GF substitutes.

Leave a Reply

