Hats off to 2011 Graduates

One of my pre-school students was looking through a cook book at school a few months back and asked if we could make this specific dessert creation.  We do quite a bit of cooking with our students at school, but I knew this project may be a little tricky for them.  Also, we probably would not have time before the school year was up.  So, I told him I’d see what I could do.   This is the finished product.

Here is how I did it incase you would like to follow suit.

Ingredients:

Cupcakes (I used boxed.  Flavor does not matter)

Frosting (whatever color you prefer)

Graham Crackers

Piping bag

Patience

 

Make cupcakes and cool completely.  Carefully peel off the cupcake paper.

I then attempted (that’s a BIG word here), attempted to frost the sides of each cake.  FAIL!  The cupcakes fell apart.  Thus TIP unwrap the cupcakes and freeze them.

Once they are frozen, frost each side as well as the bottom of the cupcake.  Then place them top down on your surface of choice.

Next, frost each side of a 1/2 graham cracker:  Frost while holding the corners of the graham.  Once you frost as much as possible, place the graham centered on top of the frosted cupcake.  Adjust the crackers so they were pointed up a bit in the front so they look more like graduation caps.  Then touch up the edges of the graham.

Fill a small tipped piping bag with frosting for the tassels.  Pipe each tassel on top of the hat.  I piped the names of the students as well.

Sounds easy right?  Live and learn.  Next time I attempt this project I will try a few new things to see if it helps my cause.

1.  I will coat the graham crackers with melted white chocolate that has been dyed the proper color.  This will alleviate the mess I created inconsistencies in my frosting abilities.

2.  I will choose to bake a denser cake (as well as a gluten-free one).  This may aid in the frosting process.

3.  I may also try a thinner frosting or a frosting I can dip the cakes into.  Again helping the frosting look cleaner.  Also, it may be a bit faster.

4.  I will strive to have an overall cleaner kitchen during my baking process.  Believe you me, there were ingredients, confectioner’s sugar, frosting, bowls, measuring cups, you name it, EVERYWHERE!  Oh. My. Word.  What an absolute mess!

This process for me took about 3 hours, not including cooling and freezing time.  I knew it would take about this long due to the fact that I require a great deal more practice frosting cakes.  It was also my first attempt at this particular project.  Practice makes perfect right?  Hubbs graduates next year so I will have another opportunity to improve upon my product.  Hopefully I haven’t scared you away from making these.  The kids were so excited and it was definitely worth every minute of hard work!  If a bit messy, they’re still so darn cute if I do say so myself!

Best of Luck and Happy Baking!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food, General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hats off to 2011 Graduates

  1. Dana says:

    Hahaha– first I read about your fish tank cleaning adventures, and now it’s the frosting debacle of June 2011. You DO have patience! 🙂
    PS: The cupcakes look great, despite the frosting fails.

Leave a Reply

