A Warm Welcome Back To The K Family!

Two weeks ago, Hubbs and I visited the West Seattle Farmer’s Market.  I spotted from across the way the tell tale K!  There it was, calling my name.  I made a bee line for the gold and blue sign.  Kiwanians selling coffee and hot cocoa.  “What can we get you” the older gentlemen asked…  “A membership” I reply.  I’ve found them at last!  HOOORRAAAHHH!

This morning around 7am I received a warm welcome back into the Kiwanis Family.  It is a family I have missed since college graduation a little over 3 years ago.  K and I have a history.  We spent a great deal of time together playing BINGO with the old folks, raising money for various causes, supporting Special Olympic events and creating a camaraderie with fellow volunteers.  During my college career I held posts in my Circle K club including Secretary, Vice President, President and at the state level of Membership Development and Education chair and LTG of the Iroquois district.  I made many friends lifelong friends in the process.

This morning was my first meeting with the West Seattle Kiwanis Club.  Today I was an honored guest and an assumed 3rd cousin of the President (we were born a town apart from each other in NY 🙂 ).  Within the next couple of meetings I will receive a sponsor and officially join the K family once more.

This group of men and women are a wonderful, high spirited, genuine bunch who are just out there trying to help others.  I love them already!

The first event I have signed up to take part in is the Pirates landing at Alki Beach on July 9th!  YAY  I can’t wait!  To be sure there will be pictures, posts and reminders for all who would like to join us.  (Psst… Im also talking Hubbs into running a 5k with me for Kiwanis’ fundraiser to support families and survivors of breast cancer.  Stay tuned for that one!)

In honor of my finding lost family, here are a couple of past K experiences 🙂

New York District Kamp Kiwanis volunteering and summer training.

SUNY Oswego Snowman making contest gone awry!  Who knew the snow capital of NY wouldn’t have enough snow in February!

Circle Kers with their Kiwanis counterparts.

Sign me up people! Glad to be back!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General, Kiwanis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

