Making Moves

For me, change never changes.  It is always stressful before, during and after the change (sometimes good stress, sometimes bad).  Change takes time.  Time when you know it’s coming, time for the change to occur, and time to get used to it.  So much time is devoted to dealing with change.

Current changes:

1.  Moving from the traditional school year to summer school

2.  The moving on/graduation of my complete first cycle of students (Montessori has 3 year cycles of students if they start at 2.5 and continue until they are 6)

3.  The possibility of adding a second job to my routine (at least for the summer)

4.  Applying for the limited amount of jobs in my career field hoping for an interview

5.  Change in diet.  Something I am still getting used to even after a year

6.  Joining a community service organization (Woot Woot to the Kiwanis family)

7.  2 plane tickets were purchased to visit NY one for July and one for November

Change is constant.  It is something I am learning to carry a positive attitude about.  I no longer “sweat the small stuff” as they say.  If weekend plans change… ok,  if dinner plans change… cool.  Life no longer ends when change occurs.  Sometimes it might feel like it, but I’m learning that it really isn’t the end all and be all of my life.

This was not always my mentality.  There were a few years in college where the world could possibly have ended at any instant.  I spent many years in a relationship that did not do my personal well-being any justice.  I now look back at that relationship and am grateful for everything I’ve learned about myself, others, the friends I want to keep, communication and the list goes on…  Life is about the journey.  The journey has its ups and downs but no matter what life throws at you, you will survive it.  Take from each experience the lesson life is teaching you.  Learn from it so you can be the best you possible.

There has recently been a great deal of self-reflection and progress in regards to change in my life.  My mentality toward, and my outward responses to change, have progressed in a positive way.  I coined the term “making moves” in college because I found that in order to thrive, I needed change.  It’s like an itch I desperately need to scratch from time to time.  It is something I look forward to, without judgement and without regret.  Sometimes its just time to move on; on to a new relationship, a new job, a new city, state, country…  and whatever it is that you need to make you happy, embrace it.  Change is on the horizon.

Change is constant.  Live in every moment, so when it is time for you to “make moves” to another chapter of your life, you can say that you enjoyed every bit of it.

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Moves

  1. Dana says:

    As somebody who finds immense comfort and stability in every day routines, I too struggle with change. Last year was a year of gigantic changes in my life, but as always– I emerged mostly unscathed and experienced positive growth as well. Good luck embracing the changes in your life, and look forward to the time when you can look back on all the changes and fully appreciate them!

Leave a Reply

