Village Green Resort, Cottage Grove, Oregon

Hubs and I arrived at The Village Green in the late afternoon on Saturday the 2nd of July.  We checked in, in the quaint, reception center, before proceeding to our room.  The room was adequate, but the view out onto our patio was amazing!  So serene and calming.  Just what we needed for a nice weekend away to celebrate our anniversary.

I personally get a little claustrophobic living in the city.  West Seattle has a small town feel but I still fight traffic back and forth to work every day.  I need some space to breath and spread my wings every once in a while.  It helps to keep me centered.  Cottage Grove was a great place for this to happen.

The grounds are amazing.  It was like the secret garden.  You can get lost in the foliage while finding the earthy person you are, buried beneath the pressures of life.  It is the place of ferries, woodland creatures and beautiful flowers.  There were benches of different colors with various flowers on which you may rest your weary bones and re-connect with your soul.  It was just magnificent.  Here is a little tour:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Village Green is a great place to “get away”.  There are only 2 things that were not up to par.  First, they have a wonderful band on Friday and Saturday nights for entertainment.  This is great if you want to get out and have a good time, but if you want to hit the hay early, you may be able to hear the band in your room.  Second,  (on a more humorous note) there were some grammatical errors in some of their environmentally friendly literature which will be discussed at a future date.  (I kept the cards and they are in my car.  I am currently writing to you from the Philadelphia airport 🙂  )

We found the Village Green Resort through a Travelzoo voucher.  I’m all about finding a good deal.  For $135 we stayed in a room with a king bed and patio for two nights and had a free dinner and bottle of wine.  A great deal and a wonderful way to spend $135 if you ask me.

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Village Green Resort, Cottage Grove, Oregon

  1. Dana says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful anniversary weekend! A great way to spend $135, I agree.

Leave a Reply

