A Saratoga, NY Wine Tasting

This month, while visiting New York, I went to my very first wine tasting at The Saratoga Winery & Tasting Room with some girlfriends.

For $5 charge, each of us were able to choose 5 different wines to sample.  We began with white, moved to red, then on to Melomel wines (made with honey, no preservatives and fermented in Kentucky bourbon barrels).

The provided wine list gave descriptions of each wine, including what flavors you should smell and taste.  With each turn, we sampled our own (and sometimes each other’s) selections, discussing our preferences and the flavor profiles we detected.

In the course of an hour and a half, we talked of wine, food and life.  We caught up on old times and enjoyed each other’s company.

At the end of our visit, we had the choice of selecting a favorite to purchase and enjoy at home.  I opted not to check a bag on my return trip to Seattle, but I will be back to enjoy one of my favorites again in November.

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Saratoga, NY Wine Tasting

  1. sounds like you had a lot of fun id love to do some wine tasting

  2. Pingback: K.A.P.L. #3 Fire Engine | lifeofaphoenix

Leave a Reply

