The Views Of Tiger Mountain, Washington

This past Saturday, a friend and I hiked up to Tiger Mountain Summit #3.  It was my first time to Tiger Mountain and my second hike as an adult.  My first hike was at Mount Si, Washington in 2009.  I made it to the top but was a ghastly sight by the time I hit the summit.  I was not as physically fit as I am now, nor was I mentally ready for the climb.  I’ll spare you the nasty details, let’s just say, it didn’t go well.

Our plan Saturday, was to climb Mount Si again, but it was raining when we arrived at the base.  We settled for a hike at Tiger Mountain.  We explored the flat trials for about an hour before we happened upon the sign for the Summit.  It was only 3 miles up, so we decided we’d be able to make it.  At 1 mile up, we were tired.  At 2 miles up, we were exhausted.  While trying to decide whether or not we were going to survive the last mile, we ran into an older gentlemen who told us a slow and steady pace would get us to the top.  Following our tortoise guide, we made it.  Sometimes all it takes is a little encouragement to accomplish a physical feat you didn’t think you could.

I brought my camera along on our hike to capture some of the beautiful scenery.

This was our view from the top of Tiger Mountain.  For whatever reason, I have an affinity for arriving at the top of mountains and tall structures for a view of clouds.  My view at Mount Si was about the same as the picture above, and remember this one?  Oh, Seattle.  What a dirty, dirty trick.

I did however manage to snap a couple decent shots on the way down.

Tiger Mountain was a great experience for me to have right before I run my first 5k at the end of the month.  It taught me that going slow and stead will have great rewards and that I can manage anything I set my mind to.  Bring it on 5k!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Views Of Tiger Mountain, Washington

  1. LM says:

    Reminds me of nature trails!!! Lovely pictures and landscape!

  2. Dana says:

    Sounds like a challenging– but rewarding– hike! Beautiful shots… after you got out of the fog and clouds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

