Farmer’s Market Peach Pie (Gluten-Free)

Last weekend I made the most delicious gluten-free Peach Pie with fresh peaches from the West Seattle Farmer’s Market.  It was so incredible that I thought I should share the recipe with you (especially with you gluten-free folks).

First thing’s first… The crust.  There is something you need to know about me, I am a pie snob.  I love pie.  I especially love pie with a vinegar pie crust (made with love by my grandma).  Here is the recipe my wonderful G-ma always uses.

Vinegar Pie Crust

4 cups flour (I use Namaste Gluten-free Baking Mix cup for cup)

1 Tbsp sugar

2 tsp. salt

1 3/4 Cups crisco

1 Tbsp vinegar

1 large egg

Mix dry ingredients with fork.  Add shortening, 1/2 C water, vinegar, and egg.   Stir with fork.  Divide into 5 equal portions (with gluten-free crust I divide into 4 equal parts.  It is easier to manipulate a slightly thicker dough when using gluten-free flour).s

Next, roll out one of your 5 (or 4) portions for the crust and place in the bottom of a glass pie dish.  Poke small holes in the bottom with a fork.

The filling…  Never, I repeat…. NEVER use canned peaches.  It is a disgrace to all things peach and all things delicious to use canned produce.  The filling is a recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens red and white checkered cook book (slightly altered for my gluten-free needs).  I also blanched (boiled in water for 15 seconds then placed in a bowl of cold water with ice) my peaches and removed the skins.

3/4 cup sugar (the peaches were so sweet I used less than 1/2 a cup and the filling was almost too sweet)

3 Tbsp all purpose flour (Sub Namaste Gluten-free baking flour)

1/4 tsp nutmeg or cinnamon

Dash salt

5 cups sliced fresh peaches

2 Tbsp butter

Line 9-inch pie plate with pastry.  Combine sugar, flour, spice and salt.  Add to peaches; mix lightly.  Fill shell.  Dot with butter.  Roll out top crust and pinch around edges.  Cut small holes or small cut outs of top crust for ventilation.  Bake at 400 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes.

Enjoy your Pie!!!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farmer’s Market Peach Pie (Gluten-Free)

  1. Dana says:

    That pie sounds about twenty shades of delicious. YUM!!

Leave a Reply

