G-Ma and G-Pa Visit Seattle: Part II

With Irene on the move up the east coast, the “last day” of my grandparents’ vacation turned into 5 more days.  After the stress of phone calls home to check on the family, make sure the patio furniture was away and getting hotel/car rental/airline tickets was under control, we were able to enjoy a great game of baseball.

Felix didn’t pitch the game for my grandma and sadly, the Mariners lost.  We had a great time regardless.  Safeco is really a beautiful field.

The next few days, we took some time to re-visit the market to get a better look at some of the things we missed…

Right before I took this, there were some kids taking turns climbing on the pig for pictures.  My grandma didn’t think she would be able to ride on the pig.  And if she did, the dismount would have been questionable.  My grandparents opted for the safe route.

We then moseyed across the street to have a nice cup of joe at Starbucks (obviously) and to people watch.  During the time we sat there, we watched a resourceful young gentleman turn his jeans into cut-offs and we learned a number of cuss words from the group of young yahoos at the table next to us.  It probably would have been more uncomfortable if my grandma wasn’t such a potty mouth herself :-).

Our time together was amazing and it was so much fun to show my family around my part of the world.  I was glad to have a couple of extra days with my old folks but I knew they were ready to go home when the time came.  Thank you Grandma and Grandpa for a wonderful visit!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Family, General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to G-Ma and G-Pa Visit Seattle: Part II

  1. beka says:

    i love your grandparents. and you! can’t wait to see you soon!!! 🙂

  2. Dana says:

    Haha– kudos to your Grandma for even *considering* getting on that pig. I can’t picture my own Grandma doing anything remotely close to that! 🙂

    I’m glad you had a great visit and that your family was kept safe during Irene. Hopefully your grandparents went home to find everything AOK on the East Coast.

    • My Grandparents are adorable! They hold hands and walk on the beach and are so cute! They went home and everything was alright. My Mom didn’t have power for almost a week and other aunts and uncles in the area got power back back within 4-7 days from when the hurricane hit. All in all no property damage, just some lost chickens, turkeys and frozen pizzas that defrosted from the freezer while the power was out.

Leave a Reply

