Heavenly Chocolate Cake (Made Gluten-Free)

This delicious cake was a recipe I found in Taste of Home Magazine’s November 2011 issue and decided to try it in the gluten-free variety.  Here is the recipe and how I changed it to suit my gluten-free needs.  It was incredibly delicious!  Hubs and I ate most of it and I froze a couple of pieces to save for a special treat.

Heavenly Chocolate Cake

Prep: 40 min  Bake: 24 min (a few extra minutes for gluten-free varieties)  Yield: 12 Servings

This recipe makes 3 – 9″ round cakes.  (I halved this recipe the first time I made it because if it didn’t work out using gluten-free ingredients, I don’t want to have wasted my precious flour.  I will definitely be making a full batch next time!)

1 cup Butter

2 1/2 cups sugar

5 eggs

1 1/2 tsp. gluten-free vanilla

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I use Namaste’s gluten-free perfect flour blend)

1 cup baking cocoa

2 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups water

Step 1:

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla. Combine the remaining dry ingredients in a separate bowl; add to the creamed mixture alternately with water, beating well after each addition.

Step 2:

Pour into three greased and floured 9-in round baking pans (I did only 2 cakes the first time since I halved the recipe).  Bake at 350 degrees for 24 to 28 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.  Cool for 10 minutes; remove cakes from pans and transfer to wire racks to cool completely.  The gluten-free variety of cake is a bit sticky on top when you remove it from the pan.  I turned the cake over onto wax paper and then transferred it to the wire rack and removed the paper.  It kept my hands a bit cleaner.

And the mother of all things delicious and cake related….

FROSTING!

1/3 cup butter

4 1/2 cups sifted powdered sugar

1/4 cup milk

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Beat butter until fluffy.  Add vanilla and beat briefly.  Gradually add 2 cups of sugar and 1/4 cup of milk beating thoroughly.  Slowly add the rest of the sugar and beat until all ingredients are mixed.  Add a bit more milk to get a spreading consistency.  This is enough to frost 2 – 8″ round cakes.  Perfect.  I tinted mine with food coloring to make it extra luscious.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food, General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heavenly Chocolate Cake (Made Gluten-Free)

  1. Dana says:

    The cake looks and sounds amazing! Also, I never realized that vanilla extract had gluten in it– is that from the alcohol? How do you get “gluten free” vanilla?

  2. Some Vanilla says gluten-free on it. Pure Vanilla extract is usually ok. Others contain gluten you have to be careful with ingredients that have carmel color and anything that says malt. Also you have to be careful with the cocoa. You never know whats in this stuff. Luckily companies are beginning to list that their ingredients are gluten-free even when they are naturally gluten-free.

Leave a Reply

