The West Seattle Library

I LOVE the library.  It was one of the very first places I visited when I moved to Seattle.  The second day I was here I asked my boyfriend at the time (my now husband) to take me to the library.  It was on my list.  1. Unpack Pick up “Twisted” by Laurie Halse Anderson at the local book store (that I obviously put on reserve before I made the move from New York to West Seattle).  2. Unpack Get a library card.  3. Get settled in my new city, in my new apartment with the man I am crazy in love with.  Job well done on all accounts.  This was the first west coast library I visited.  I was not disappointed.

Great Success!!  The West Seattle Library is as beautiful on the outside as it is on the inside.  Oh gracious, the building is just magnificent!

The ceiling has beautiful windows.

And look at all those rich shelves with all those beautiful books!  The heck with modern architecture.  I love the look of the old buildings outside and in.  They have personality.  Just wonderful.

Libraries are like a sanctuary for me.  They have been since college.  They are a place I can go to get work done without distraction.  They are a place to collect my thoughts and be peaceful.  They are a wealth of knowledge.  They have everything I could need.  Silly internet… Who needs the internet when you have the glorious Library?

Where do you go to be peaceful?

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Seattle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The West Seattle Library

  1. Dana says:

    I love libraries, too! Unfortunately, our libraries here in Vic aren’t nearly as nice as the West Seattle branch looks to be. They’re big, but not the nicest buildings from the outside.

Leave a Reply

