Happy Last Day of 2011

I’m going to be honest WordPress friends,  these past 2 months have been a whirl-wind.  In the beginning of November, I started a new job as a preschool teacher in West Seattle.  Very exciting, let me tell you!  I sold my car because now that I can walk to work, who needs a car, right?  I went home to New York for a beautiful wedding for my best friend Michelle and her new husband John, both of whom I adore.  I had a “fake Thanksgiving” with my family the week before the actual holiday.  Then I came back to Seattle the week of Thanksgiving.  We had a big holiday celebration with yummy gluten-free food.

The day after Thanksgiving, one of my very favorite people went into the hospital, in Florida while on vacation(I know your probably reading this so, Hi).  Sad Face!  That same weekend my Nana (Great-Grandmother) went into the hospital as well but up in New York.  Super BIG Sad Face!  Stuck here in Seattle, I felt a bit helpless but with the support of my Hubs and constant contact with my Mom, I kept from doing crazy things like crying at my new job.  That would probably have been frowned upon.

I then found out my co-teacher is moving on to a new job south of Tacoma and I will be the lead teacher in my classroom.  Exciting and all but not great timing.  She has another week with us still which was a blessing.  I am very excited for her because I know she will be happy at her new job.  Still, not great timing.

Grandpa fortunately got better, but Nana did not.  2 weeks ago, my 94-year-old Great-Grandma passed away.  Hubs and I went home to be with our family.  It was great to see all of my family, especially some that we don’t get to see as often.  This is a picture of my Grandparents, Great-Aunt and Uncle and us 25 Great-Grandchildren (missing 2).

We came back the week of Christmas with all of our shopping and preparations still to do.  We finished up after work mid-week and still were able to make the holiday special.  Christmas eve we went to the 49ers vs. Seahawks game with friends.  On Christmas, we ate delicious food (which if you keep up on my blog you should know is a staple 🙂 ), we opened gifts around our beautiful but dried out tree, and spent the day with a great friend.

There was not a great deal of time for blogging (sorry for the neglect people), holiday baking or Christmas caroling but we made it special just the same.

Being that it is the last night of 2011, I am looking forward to starting the New Year with a clean slate.  At school, I will be taking over the lead role, changing the room around and creating closer relationships with my students and their families.  At home, I will be setting goals and getting off my lazy tush.  I have needed this time to mourn and be sad and I know I will still be sad sometimes, but I am ready for the new year to begin!  I hope you are ready too.

Happy New Year WordPress Friends and Family!!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Family, General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Last Day of 2011

  1. Dana says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Nana passing away, Stephanie. It sounds like you’ve had some pretty rough and challenging months recently, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you can turn a corner in 2012. I really enjoy reading your blog and am looking forward to following another year of posts from you! 🙂

  2. Thank you Dana. It was very sad. She had a long happy life full of family and love. I am grateful for that. I am also looking forward to this new year I know it will be wonderful. I can’t wait to continue blogging and reading your awesome posts also! 🙂

Leave a Reply

