Veal Parmigiana – Gluten-Free

Today I tried my hand at veal.  I have taken up buying foods that I have never had the experience of cooking before.  I usually buy them on sale because then if I screw it up, it isn’t too much of a financial loss.  At the grocery store today veal leg was on sale for 50% off!  Who could pass that up?  Not this girl!  I came home and took a voyage on the world-wide web and found a great recipe for Veal Parmigiana that I oddly enough had all of the ingredients for.  I adapted the recipe for my gluten-free needs.  Here is my adapted recipe…

Ingredients:

1/2 lb Veal slices pounded thin (there are only 2 of us)

2 tbsp Namaste gluten-free baking mix aka flour

salt and pepper to taste

1 egg

2 tbsp lemon juice

1/3 cup dry breadcrumbs (I cubed and baked the rest of the rosemary garlic bread (at 250 degrees for 1 hour or until dry) I had left over from this recipe I then blended it to make bread crumbs)

1/3 cup grated Parmesan Cheese

1 tbsp oil

3 tbsp butter

Sauce:

2 cups homemade tomato sauce

pinch of thyme and cayenne depending on how much spice you like

Directions:

Place veal slices between 2 pieced of waxed paper.  Pound out the pieces with flat bottom frying pan.

Dry veal slices between 2 pieces of paper towel

Bowl 1: Combine flour, salt and pepper in a bowl

Bowl 2: Beat egg and lemon juice

Bowl 3: Combine bread crumbs and cheese

Dip each piece of veal and coat beginning with 1, then 2 then 3.

Allow breaded slices to rest for 20 minutes before cooking.

Heat skillet over medium heat: add oil and 1 teaspoon butter (adding more as needed)

Saute veal slices 2-3 at a time for 2 minutes on each side.

Add more butter to the pan as necessary

Keep slices warm in the oven while sautéing the rest of the veal slices.

When all of your protein is browned, return the pieces to the pan and reduce heat to simmer.

Pour tomato sauce over veal and add a pinch of thyme and cayenne pepper.

Cover and simmer 10 minutes.

Serve over pasta.

This recipe was all well and good.  It tasted quite delicious.  The veal was so very tender and yummy in my tummy, but I would do a couple things different next time.

1.  I would sauté each piece of veal and keep them warm in the oven.  Then heat the sauce in the pan where the veal was sautéed.  Last, I would serve the pasta with the sauce on top then the veal on top of that.  The breading got a bit soggy and that was sad 😦

2.  I also made glazed carrots which definitely did not go with this meal but I had a strong desire to try to make them so I did.  I got the recipe from this fine gentleman and I will pass his information along to you as well:

The Metal Spoon permalink

They’re really simple!  Slice your carrots evenly, put them in a pan with about 2 TBSP butter, 1/3 cup brown sugar, and a cup of water.  Season with salt and pepper and cook on medium until the water evaporates and you are left with a glaze and the carrots are tender, about 30 min.  Enjoy!

I hope you find this veal extravaganza to your liking.  It is always great to try new things.

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veal Parmigiana – Gluten-Free

  1. Thanks for the link! I’ve not cooked veal either, but look forward to it. This sounds, and looks, like it was a great meal.

  2. It was really delicious. It made me a little bit sad because veal is kind of sad but it really was yummy.

Leave a Reply

