Crock Pot Barbecue Pulled Chicken – Gluten-Free

This Crock Pot BBQ Chicken was inspired by the fact that I bought frozen chicken thighs instead of breasts the last time I went to Costco.  Not a great choice let me tell you.  They are much more fatty and dark meat is not the husband’s favorite.  What do you do with a fatty cut of meat… why slow cook it, render the fat and pull it!  The result was a great success on a gluten-free bun!

Here is how you can take those chicken thighs and turn them in to a scrumptious dinner!

Pull out your trusty slow cooker.  Throw in 6 or 7 frozen chicken thighs (about 3 lbs).

Mix together:

2 tbsp McCormick’s pork rub

1/2 cup Ketchup

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

pinch of salt

Pour liquids over your chicken in the crock pot and turn that puppy up to high heat.  While your chicken is defrosting still, the liquids may not cover the meat at first.  Stir it around every now and again to be sure when it is defrosted that it is submerged (or don’t be as lazy as I am and defrost your chicken ahead of time).

Cook for 4 to 5 hours or until the meat temperature reaches 165 degrees and your chicken is tender and “pullable” with 2 forks.  Strain off the extra liquids if you have any and then place the chicken back into the crock pot.

Drizzle Sweet Baby Rays Barbecue sauce or sauce of your choice over the chicken and stir together pulling the meat apart with 2 forks.

Turn your slow cooker to the lowest setting to keep your meat warm while serving buffet style.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crock Pot Barbecue Pulled Chicken – Gluten-Free

  1. Dana says:

    I have to give you kudos for being so flexible and experimental with your cooking! I tend to stay to my Old Faithful recipes, but you seem to try something new ALL THE TIME! Way to go!

  2. I have challenged myself to cook 4 new recipes a month this year. It seems to be going well so far! I also buy things that I’ve never cooked (only if they are on sale) just to try it out. Because why not? Right?

Leave a Reply

