San Francisco “Landmarks”

Friday evening we packed up all our necessities for the next few days (this included an amazing amount of warm clothes for the 49ers and Giants game).  We made sure the gato had enough food and water to last her.  It would only be 3 days but I felt so sad to leave her by her lonesome.  She was a champ though and made it through the whole weekend without any “accidents”.

We made an appointment for the taxi service to pick us up at 2:45 am for a 6 am flight to Oakland.  With all of the snow many people had not made their flights over the past few days.  We were being safe instead of sorry by getting to the airport so early.

When the cab driver picked us up we were ready to go but still sleepy.  It was very quiet in the cab until our driver began to swerve slowly from side to side, drifting between the reflectors marking the edges of the lane we were in.  Now I wondered if we really were better to be safe.  Panda did a good job by striking up a conversation with the driver about the weather and how business was going.  Insert sigh of relief.  We made it to the airport without disaster, thank goodness.


We look pretty good for only 2 hours of sleep!

The flight took off right on schedule and we arrived in Oakland at about 9 am in plenty of time to spend the rest of the day with Aunt Nita and Uncle Bill who live in Rhonert Park, just outside of San Francisco.

We got off of our plane and found Aunt Nita just outside the gate.  I gave her a big hug and then waited while Panda did the same.  As I was standing there, I looked up.  The screeching and bouncing commenced.  I spotted Mama (Panda’s mom)!  She is so wonderful and loving and so very much fun.  I was so excited I ran over and gave her an enormous hug and cried a little bit.  True to form.  Panda and I were both totally surprised!  Neither of us knew she was coming up to visit.  We have not seen Mama since our wedding a year and a half ago.  She is living in New Mexico and has not had the chance to get up to Seattle to see us.  This made it even more exciting.

We spent the rest of the day joyously catching up, cracking jokes and laughing our tushes off.  I have not laughed as hard in quite a while.

Now, we had been planning to go to downtown San Francisco to see the sights and get some great photos of beautiful landmarks in San Fran.  I have come to terms with the fact that when I go on vacation, it is almost always to be with family, not to take pictures and “see the sights”.  Silly Stephanie to think this would be different.  So in leu of all the landmark photos I was going to take, you get to see photos of some of the people who are the beautiful landmarks of my life.

Michael (Panda) and his Mama.

Michael, Gina (Aunt Nita’s daughter), Mama and Aunt Nita.

Bella, Rocky and I snuggled on the chair.  It is important to tell you that dogs are not always my biggest fans, these two couldn’t get enough.  They were so loving and just wanted to be close!  It was wonderful!

 Me and Mama.

There is Uncle Bill.  He and I had actually never met until this weekend.  Unfortunately he was unable to attend the wedding so we’ve only talked on the phone.  He is a funny guy and I love him already.

We had a fabulous time together on Saturday.  It was so great to see Mama, we have really been missing her.  We stayed up way past our bedtime but it was well worth it.

I hope you enjoyed the “sights” of San Francisco as much as we did!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to San Francisco “Landmarks”

  1. Dana says:

    Haha, we’re the total opposite. We’ve gone to visit family before and came back with nothing but “scenery” and “landmark” shots on the camera! 🙂 It’s wonderful that you got to reconnect with family during your visit, especially because it was unexpected. It’s an acceptable excuse for not having any real landmark shots of SF.

  2. I go home to visit and almost never take any pictures. Even of my family! I feel like I know them and see them enough that I just don’t think of it. This time Mama was really pushy about the picture taking so we were better about it. I kept my camera out the entire trip so we’d take more photos.
    It was so much fun to see Mama. She is a hoot to be around and Aunt Nita is hilarious. We had a great time I don’t miss the landmarks when I have such a great time with my family.

Leave a Reply

