The Big Game!

Panda and I have both loved football since we were young.  His favorite team is the 49ers and ever since I was little I have been rooting for the Giants with my Grandpa.  When the Giants won the playoff game and we knew the 49ers and Giants would be playing at Candlestick Park in San Francisco together, we joked about how expensive it would be to go to the game.  I popped online and pulled up stubhub just to take a look.  We saw how much the cheapest tickets were.  We talked it over and decided that for this once in a life time experience, it really wasn’t as bad as we thought.  This is how we ended up with tickets.  Then we made the round of phone calls while I bounced up and down and all around the apartment because I was FINALLY going to see the Giants LIVE!!  Woot Woot!!

We called up Aunt Nita and Uncle Bill and told them we were coming to visit.  They were ecstatic.  Actually I believe the words out of Aunt Nita’s mouth were, “It’s about time.  I expected to see you here in November”.

The very next Saturday morning we hopped on a plane and off we went to San Francisco.

On Sunday, I got up a bit early because I was so excited to be with Mama and to be going to the game.  We ate a delicious breakfast and got ready to go.

Giants blue and 49ers red and gold.  It was suggested to me that I not wear Giants gear because the fans at Candlestick have been vicious to their opponent’s fans.  In the spirit of safety, I wore my colors proudly under my fleece and hoodie, inside my jacket.

And here it is, the shot you have all been waiting for.  The traditional San Francisco photo:

If you can’t tell, that is the Golden Gate Bridge through the windshield, while we were driving, in the pouring rain.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! 🙂

An hour and a half after departure, through stop and go traffic, we finally arrived at Candlestick.

The stadium was all a buzz with fans tailgating, grilling, and arriving to root on their favorite team.

It is not the most beautiful stadium I have ever been to but we sure had great seats considering how old the building is.

Not too far away, right?

Troops carried out the flag while the anthem was sung and 49ers fans booed during it because the megatron (if you could even call it that, it was so tiny) was showing alternating clips of Giants players and 9ers players.  Well done fans.  Way to boo for the other team during the national anthem.  Classy.

It was an amazing game!  Both teams played beautiful football despite the rain.  I only yelled at Eli Manning a couple of times and he didn’t throw any picks.  Well done.  The Giants couldn’t have won this game themselves though.  My love goes out to the 49er who fumbled the ball in overtime giving the Giants another opportunity to score.  Poor guy has death threats out for him because he made 2 plays that changed the outcome of the game.  He shall remain nameless for his safety…  I was overjoyed at the end of the game bouncing up and down (on the inside while being a good sport on the outside).  I could not be happier that I got to see my favorite team in person and the WON and now they are going to the SUPERBOWL!!  Woooo Hooo Go GIANTS!!!

Sad Panda.  His team lost 😦

I have a few horror stories from the game but they are so horrific I did not want to spoil this joyful post with them.  You’ll have to wait until tomorrow!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Big Game!

  1. Dana says:

    So worth it, whatever the cost was. It’s a once-in-a-lifetime experience, plus your team WON! 🙂

  2. It really was amazing. We had a great time and we will never forget how much fun we had. Dispite the horror stories which you will hear about tomorrow, it was definitely worth every penny!

Leave a Reply

