Snazzy Spinach Salad

While wandering around Target looking for school supplies, I came across the new “food” section of our store.  I saw nothing spectacular until BAM! spinach on sale.  Well done Target.  With this new “healthy food” thing that has been going on in the house, spinach would be a great addition!  Who doesn’t love spinach so full of fiber and green leafy vitamins.  We have had 2 different kinds of spinach salad for dinner on consecutive nights without any complaints.  Who says salad has to be boring?  The salads were very satisfying and filling.  I am always concerned that I will be hungry again soon after eating fruits and veggies but that hasn’t happened with these two salads.

Snazzy Spinach Salad 

2 hand fulls of clean dry spinach leaves

chopped orange pepper

cherry tomatoes

feta cheese

baked chicken breast (I baked the chicken the night before while I had some time to cut down on the cook time for salads)

a little oil and vinegar

cracked black pepper

The orange pepper really gave a bright pop of flavor mixed with the rich, earthy spinach. 

Pear and Feta Spinach Salad

2 hand fulls of clean dry spinach leaves

6 slices of pear

hazelnuts crushed (I took 6 hazelnuts wrapped them in plastic wrap and smashed them with a frying pan 🙂  no better way to crush some nuts!)

sprinkle feta cheese

chopped chicken breast

a little oil and vinegar

cracked black pepper

I love fruit in salad.  I think that it really perks up a potentially dull salad. 

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food, General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snazzy Spinach Salad

  1. Pre says:

    I only got into fruit in my salad this past summer, but you’re right, it totally perks it up! My favorite addition to any greens are apples, walnuts, goat cheese and a balsamic dressing – YUM!

  2. Dana says:

    I love all sorts of salads. My fave option with spinach is red peppers, black olives, pea shoots (or some type of sprouts), and avocado on top. Cracked black pepper, a dash of nutritional yeast, and a homemade vinaigrette top it all off. YUM! Looks like I’m having a salad for lunch! 🙂

Leave a Reply

