Tiny’s Organic Community Supported Agriculture

Yesterday upon leaving the YMCA I learned about an amazing program through Tiny’s Organic Farm.  Tiny’s is part of a CSA program where the community can purchase (in advance) produce from the farm.  Then, each week for 22 weeks you can pick up your produce at a community location.  Each time you get a new bag, your variety of produce will vary depending on what is in season and has the most prevalent crop that week.  You can choose from an all fruit bag or a mixed fruit and vegetable bag.  You can make payments or pay all at once.

What an ingenious idea for both the consumer and the farm!  Customers will know that each week they can pick up their local, organic, fresh, healthy produce without the hassle of picking through at the grocery store.  As a consumer you also know that your produce is the freshest it can be.  It hasn’t been sitting in a box in a truck for days, then in the store for days before you purchase it.  The farmers can be sure that their crop will sell and it will help sustain the farm from year to year.

This is the first I have heard about the CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program.  It is such a wonderful program to have available, especially living in a city.

If you would like more information or if you live in the Seattle area and would like to become a part of this program, visit Tiny’s Organic online.

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food, General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tiny’s Organic Community Supported Agriculture

  1. Dana says:

    CSAs are a win-win-win situation for everyone involved! Fresh, local produce always gets my mouth watering. 🙂

  2. Yaz says:

    I am also a member. I signed up at VegFest last year because my last CSA didn’t have fruit. The cherries, peaches, nectarines and pluots I hoarded from my family they were so good. Wenatchee has much sunnier weather than we do so they also had vine ripened heirloom tomatoes which West side farms cannot grow. I try every single year and it doesn’t work. I miss them!

    • CSA is a really great program! When we settle in to life I am sure we will become members also! I LOVE fresh off the vine tomatoes. We used to grow them in Upstate New York when I lived there. Just bring the salt with you and wipe the dirt on your pants. Nothing better than a still sun warmmed tomato

Leave a Reply

