Walrus Art for Preschool

During the month of January, we studied arctic animals.  This was one of my favorites.

Materials:

Straws

Black and brown or two different shades of brown paper

Pipe cleaners

Googlie Eyes

Glue

Directions:

First, I took a glass and traced it twice interlocking the circles to make the walrus’ cheeks.  I then cut this out of the lighter color paper.

Next, I glued the circles to a darker piece of brown paper.  (The cheeks should show below the “head”.)

I then cut a semi-circle to make the head.

We used tape to attach the tusks because we all know that 3 year old children do not have the patience to wait for squeeze glue to dry before playing with their walrus.

We used stick glue for the eyes.

Our whiskers were a bit tricky.  We poked 4 holes with the tip of a pen on each cheek.  We then stuck one pipe cleaner through each hole bending it on the back side to “clip” it into the hole.

Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezie!  With all of the pieces pre cut out, my class of 3 year old students could complete this independently (mostly).

Good luck!  I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Art Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walrus Art for Preschool

  1. Dana says:

    Super cute! Amazing that even 3-year olds could complete this by themselves for the most part.

Leave a Reply

