Bread Dreams

Sometimes I dream about bread.  Not gluten-free good for me bread, but squishy Italian with the crunchy crust bread, marble rye toasted bread or just plain white bread.  When I went gluten-free I dreamed about bread much more often, now it only happens once in a while.  Usually around the lady time of the month.  It is never as satisfying as I think it should be. 

The other night I had another one of these fateful dreams… I was using plain old sliced white bread to sop up some delicious gravy looking food substance.  What I was using the bread to sop up was not anywhere near as important as the fact that I was enjoying some delicious, gluten-filled, light and fluffy bread.  The bread squished between my teeth and got stuck to the roof of my mouth, just like any good white bread should.  Once I had finished eating, I realized the mistake I had made.  Oh goodness, that was real bread!  Gluten-Filled Bread!  BIG NO NO!  I felt so guilty for eating something that would make me feel sick.  How could I make such a mistake?  To make matters worse, in comes my dream husband (who looks a lot like my actual husband) and he says to me “What did you DO?” in a very demanding, incredulous way.  The dream guilt feels heavier with the dream feeling of disappointing my loved one…

I woke up with a bad ache in my heart!  Not only will I now have a stomach ache from eating the bread but Panda is mad at me too.  How could I DO that?… at which point I remember, it was only a dream.

Do you ever have dreams so vivid that you wake up thinking they are real?

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food, General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bread Dreams

  1. Dana says:

    I have dreams like that sometimes, and chocolate is usually the guilty culprit. It doesn’t make sense, though, because I eat chocolate all the time and don’t feel guilty about it in waking life. 🙂

  2. Thypolar says:

    My daughter and I both have Celiac disease and when I was first diagnosed I use to dream of food all the time. I usually would dream of pastas that I couldn’t find and wake up upset. I thought I was going crazy at first. I don’t have those dreams as much anymore but my daughter still does. She dreams of being in a pizza place with friends and devouring whole pizzas. 🙂

  3. Coming East says:

    It must be so difficult to have to give up real bread. No wonder you dream about it. I don’t know if I’ve had dreams that left me feeling guilty, but I’ve definitely had dreams so disturbing and real-feeling that I was slow to let go of them, even after I had awoken. Hate that feeling! And I’ve also had dreams that I didn’t want to give up because I loved them, like when I dreamed I was with my parents who have been dead for many years.

Leave a Reply

