Happy Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day should be a celebration of love and romance.  For me, the love and romance part is a very small portion of the joy and fun celebrated on Valentine’s Day.

The real holiday celebration happens at work.  Preschool is the land of holidays and celebrations.  I have been working at my new school for 3 months and we have celebrated Channaka, Kwanzza, Christmas, New Years, Lunar New Year, Groundhogs Day and now Valentine’s Day!  Traditions are an important part of life that are established during the tender years of childhood.

What better tradition to instil in my children than Valentine’s Day Cards and treats.  On Friday we had our Friendship Celebration with all of the students and their parents.  It was one full classroom!  We made Valentine cards for our families and ate cookies.  There it is cards and treats… Hallmark would be so proud!

Some parents are crafty and I would not be surprised to see some of my students bring homemade cards.  I personally purchased my cards…

Remember that whole conversation we had the other day about being a grown-up?  Well say hello to my PIXAR Valentine cards!  And yes I did pay extra for stickers!  I love PIXAR movies and so do my students.  So why in the world would I consider making some silly cards that are in no way as cool as these?

There is one card in that pile for each of my students and one on special reserve for a friend who is in LOVE with Buzz Light Year.  Buzz Light Year shirts, drawing pictures of 5 Buzz Light Years, pretending we are Buzz, it never gets old when you’re 3.  Now that is REAL love!

I hope everyone has a Wonderful Valentine’s Day celebrating love with candy, flowers and Buzz Light Year!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Dana says:

    I had a tradition for a few years of buying the cheesiest/grossest Valentine’s cards I could find (on purpose) and sending them out to my friends when I was in university. I had some WWE Raw Valentines, Godzilla Valentines, Spice Girls Valentines– so bad it’s good! 🙂

    I haven’t sent Valentines in a long time now. Maybe if I had a classroom full of young students, I could get back into it…

  2. bekastays says:

    The 4 year old I nanny is similarly obsessed with Buzz Lightyear, except she refers to him as “Buddy Sunlight.” We’re not sure why. But I hope she never outgrows it 🙂

    P.s. – Celebrating Valentine’s Day with a 2 year old and 4 year old yesterday was my best Valentine’s Day yet!!! Kids are the best 🙂

  3. cestlavie22 says:

    Happy Valentines Day! I love those cards! I am really a Vday card fan they are just the best 🙂 I wanted to be crafty with the card this year but just didnt get to it :/

Leave a Reply

