Snickerdoodles Gluten-Free

Snickerdoodles have always been some of my favorite cookies.  I used to make them when I was little with my Grandma and my Nana.  I remember standing next to them rolling balls of dough between my tiny hands before dipping them around in the small bowl of sugar and cinnamon.

These turned out yummy, just like always (and I even substituted gluten-free flour)

Snickerdoodles Recipe

1/2 cup butter softened

1 cup sugar

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cup gluten-free flour (I use Namaste gluten-free baking mix)

2 tbsp sugar (Save for end)

1 tsp cinnamon (Save for end)

Mix butter for 30 seconds to soften.  Add 1 cup sugar, baking soda and cream of tartar.  beat until combined.  Then beat in the egg and vanilla.  Next, beat in as much flour as the mixer will allow and then stir in the remainder.  Cover and chill for 1 hour.

Combine the sugar and cinnamon you saved for the end.  Shape dough into 1 inch balls and roll in the cinnamon sugar.  Place on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Cook for 10-11 minutes.  When removed from the oven, place on a wire rack to cool.

Enjoy!

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in Food, General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snickerdoodles Gluten-Free

  1. Sounds delish! I’m new to g free so i appreciate seeing this yumminess. Thanks.

  2. Dana says:

    Can you believe I’ve never tried a snickerdoodle before? I’m shocked, especially because I love me some cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe– these sound great!

Leave a Reply

