Bringing the Beach to the Classroom

In my preschool class we have been learning about West Seattle.  We went for an adventure on Friday all around the community visiting the park, the Les Schwab, the fruit stand and looking around at the totem pole.  Alki Beach is a great part of West Seattle (my favorite part in fact), but I thought it might be difficult to bring all of our students to the beach.  So instead, my teacher friend and I ventured out to this Sunday to collect supplies to bring the beach back to the classroom.  We collected shells, rocks, sea glass and even a piece of drift wood.

We decided to leave this behind

We also decided that sea weed would get a little too stinky to keep in our class…

 The students absolutely loved looking at all of the objects we collected.  They used their magnifying glasses, their noses and their hands to get a great sense of the beach.  We were even able to observe a live shrimp (although it was very tiny).  The shrimp fell out of one of the rocks we brought back (eww) and the kids LOVED it!

It was really exciting for me to watch them be so intrigued by the barnacles, rocks and shells.  We are continuing to expand on some of the things that we found and are interested in.  This was much more fun that just reading about Alki Beach in a book!

 

PS. When it snows, rains, hails, is windy and sunny all in the same day… it makes the children CRAZY!  🙂

About lifeofaphoenix

My name is Stephanie and I live in the greater Seattle area with my husband Michael. This blog is my opportunity to give myself an outlet for my love of writing, photography, food and life.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bringing the Beach to the Classroom

  1. Dana says:

    I love beach combing! It’s so great living on the west coast, hey? 🙂

Leave a Reply

